Tag: Brownstone Buildings

Aerial Lift Bridge: View down Third Avenue West from Fourth Street, Duluth, Minnesota

The 1893 First Methodist Episcopal church occupied the corner of Third Avenue West and Third Street in downtown Duluth until the congregation built the 1965 church building designed by architect Pietro Belluschi that everyone calls the Copper Top church at Skyline and Central Entrance. This brownstone structure closed in November 1966 and was razed in 1969. ~ Photo Credit: University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Collections

Aerial Bridge: Spalding Hotel with Bridge, Duluth, Minnesota

Most photographs of downtown Duluth will also capture the Aerial Bridge, and so it is with this image of Superior Street at Fifth Avenue West. The Spalding hotel was completed in June 1889. It was razed in the summer of 1963 along with many other buildings in the Gateway Renewal Project. The total cost of razing Gateway buildings was $258,000, including demolition of the Spalding hotel at the cost of $43,500. ~ Photo Credit: University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Collections

Bow Brothers Sled, Duluth, Minnesota

Lewis (fur coat) and Frank Bow's horse team pull sled to distribute oil for Cornplanter oil company of Forty-sixth Avenue West. They are stopped on Second Street in downtown in front of Central High school. ~ Photo Credit: University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Collections

Temple Opera, Duluth, Minnesota

Built as a Masonic Temple in 1889, Second Avenue East and Superior Street, it was also a theater. The top floors and the iconic onion bulb feature of the Temple Opera building were removed in the 1940s. The avenue entrance was removed. The truncated building still stands. ~ Photo Credit: University of Minnesota Duluth, Kathryn A. Martin Library, Northeast Minnesota Historical Collections

Go to Top